Eldorado Mining and Refining Limited.—Set up in 1944 under the name of Eldorado Mining and Refining (1944) Limited (the date was omitted from the name in June 1952), the company's business is the mining and refining of uranium and the production of nuclear fuels in Canada. The company has also entered into contracts for the purchase of uranium concentrates from private producers in Canada. It reports to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

Export Credits Insurance Corporation.—This Corporation commenced operations in 1945 under the Export Credits Insurance Act, 1944 (RSC 1952, c. 105) and is administered by a Board of Directors (including the Deputy Minister of Trade and Commerce and the Deputy Minister of Finance) with the advice of an Advisory Council. Its function is to insure Canadian exporters against non-payment by foreign buyers arising out of credit and political risks involved in foreign trade. The Corporation reports to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce,

Farm Credit Corporation.—This Corporation was established on Oct. 5, 1959 (SC 1959, c. 43) for the purpose of providing for the extension of long-term mortgage credit to farmers. The Corporation is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Agriculture.

Fisheries Prices Support Board.—The Board was set up in July 1947 (RSC 1952, c. 120) to recommend to the Government price support measures when severe price declines occur. The Board functions under the direction of the Minister of Fisheries and consists of a chairman, who is a senior officer of the Department of Fisheries, and five members chosen from private and cooperative firms in the industry. The Board has authority to buy fishery products and to sell or otherwise dispose of them or to pay producers the difference between a price prescribed by the Board and the average price the product actually commands.

Industrial Development Bank.—The Bank, a subsidiary of the Bank of Canada, was incorporated in 1944 to provide loans to industrial enterprises where financing is not available through recognized lending organizations. (See footnote, p. 105.)

National Battlefields Commission.—This Commission was established by Act of Parliament in 1908 to preserve the historic battlefields at Quebec City. The Commission is composed of nine members, seven being appointed by the Federal Government and one each by the Provinces of Ontario and Quebec. The Commission is supported by an annual statutory grant from the Federal Government and is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources.

National Capital Commission.—This Commission is a Crown agency created by the National Capital Act (SC 1958, c. 37), proclaimed Feb. 6, 1959. It is the lineal descendant of the Federal District Commission.

The Commission is served by a full-time paid chairman and comprises a total of twenty members representative of the ten provinces of Canada. There is a staff of seven officials reporting to a general manager, and a permanent work force of about 550.

Co-ordination and development of public lands in the National Capital Region are undertaken by direct planning and construction by the Commission's staff; by co-operation with municipalities; by provision of planning aid or financial assistance in municipal projects; and by advising the Department of Public Works on the siting and appearance of all Federal Government buildings in the 1,800-sq. mile National Capital Region. The Commission reports to Parliament through the Minister of Public Works.

National Gallery of Canada.—The National Gallery of Canada was founded in 1880. By Act of Parliament in 1913, re-enacted in 1951, it was placed under the management of a Board of Trustees appointed by the Governor General in Council and now operates under the National Gallery Act (RSC 1952, c. 186). It is responsible to Parliament through a Minister of the Crown (at present the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration).

The first charge of the National Gallery is the development and care of the national art collections. Other important services are the arrangement of loans and exhibitions from abroad and from its own holdings for showing in Canada and abroad, and general extension work consisting of the distribution of reproductions for educational purposes, lectures, educational tours, publications, school broadcasts and art films.

National Harbours Board.—The Board was established by Act of Parliament in 1936. It is responsible for the administration of port facilities at Halifax, Saint John, Chicoutimi, Quebec, Trois Rivières, Montreal, Vancouver and Churchill, the Jacques Cartier and Champlain bridges at Montreal Harbour, and the government grain elevators at Prescott and Port Colborne, Ont. The Board is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

National Research Council.—In 1917 the Research Council Act was passed and in 1928 laboratories for scientific research were established at Ottawa. The National Research Council now has Divisions of Pure and Applied Chemistry, Building Research, Mechanical Engineering,